A Southie Landmark
First opened in 1951, Sullivan’s on Castle Island in South Boston has been an iconic destination for locals and visitors for generations.
Founder Dan Sullivan, Sr. opened the doors with the plan to provide quality food at reasonable prices in a family friendly atmosphere to those enjoying leisure time on the 22-acre recreation site, now operated as a state park.
Where It All Started
Fort Independence, completed in 1851, is the 8th military fort on the island. Castle Island is the oldest continuously fortified location in British North America.
Up & Running
June of 1951, Dan Sullivan, Sr. opened the concession stand for the first time offering quality food at reasonable prices and our commitment to that philosophy remains the same 60+ years later.
A Rite of Passage
Since our opening, generations of Bostonians have enjoyed making Sullivan’s a go-to destination.
Sully’s Gets a Face Lift
Sullivan’s second building erected. The cinderblock building stood for over 25 years.
A Family Affair
Four generations of the Sullivan family have continuously worked at the ‘stand’. In this photo, Dan Sullivan, Sr. working in the 1970’s.
A Local Favorite
Fads may have changed—but our hot dogs and french fries will always remain in style.
Current brick building is constructed in 1986. The façade is a replica of the officer’s quarters that once lined the walk facing the bay, circa 1807.
Sullivan’s celebrates its 60th year in Southie!
Good Ole’ Sully’s
We remain committed to providing you quality food at reasonable prices in a family friendly environment!